The simple life on the camino

Bild

Six times in spain walking. Six times and something like 45-50 days. Thousand steps. Hundreds of liters with water down the throat and meeting people from all over the world sharing lifestories, sharing problems and joys, asking for help, beeing helped, prayer and tears, happiness and sadness and more. Still it´s an easy life. Not many possessions to carry around in the backpack just the necessary: underwear, Bildsocks, toiletries, a hat, sunglases, waterbottle, guidebook, towel, long- and short-trousers, sleeping sheet, poncho, moneybelt, a fleece, that´s about it. Seven kilo. I have my mobile with me and it is closed over the day, only open in the evening when I can read or send a message to home. It is a wonderful life, in the nature, walking. The tempo is the best for really appreciating it, the nature. Four to five km an hour and still it´s time to stop for a swim, put the feet in a cold stream, stop to look for a flower, talk with a pony or a donkey, stop at a café for a café con leche and a bocadillo or tortilla espanola, something to eat.
When arriving at the days stop/albergue or pension or where I will sleep, could be a cloister, could be a chapell, could be a church, it could even be in the portico.Bild

The routine is to wash, clothes and body and care for the feet. Then a nice siesta before we eat our dinner. This dinner could be from the hosts. Like on 25 th july, St. Jakobs day, we were served a mixed dinner in the basement of the albergue. We were something like thirty/forty pilgrims, we´ve never met before, having a great time together up until ten, when the lights go of and silence is decreed. Or at another time we shop together and cook in the kitchen and serve ourselves good food. The comming morning up at five thirty/six o’clock. Grab a bit and off we go again. A new day has come, maybe we meet the sunrise and the little chilly morning is slowly changing into a hot day with the sun shining on our skin forcing the sweat out from our bodies into the eyes, salty water, hard. Going uphill and downhill over and over again. Climbing picas to se the marvelous landscape and the basque country, navarre, galicia, asturias. It is an easy life that helpes comming close to my self and others. The openness and trust is so relaxant for the soul and the mind it opens up spaces in the inner that is hidden in the everyday life where we always have distractions stopping us from digging deeper and deeper into our selves. It is a spiritual and a physical journey and the two can not be without the other. They are one, dependent of the other, no one more or less important tha the other. They nourish eachother. They help one another to grow. I love this life, and for every year I become better and better at bringing the experiences into my life back home. Now that I know I can have a good life with less, I find it easier to withstand the allurements from the comsumtion industry. I know what I need and it´s less than I thought many years ago.

Bild

4 thoughts on “The simple life on the camino

    • I think everyone should. It benefits so much to a better life. For oneself, myself as individual and me as a collective beeing. It brings me a great deal of understanding for me and others.

  1. I love your recollections. A year ago I started to walk from Biarritz with a friend. We were going to walk the Norte and the Primitivo but ,unfortunately he got ill and had to return home and I continued along the Norte. It is a beautiful route and I met some lovely people. I am slowly writing up my memories as a blog.

Leave a Reply

